WCER’s Good and Cheng Win AERA’s 2020 Palmer Award for Excellence in Education Research

July 22, 2020   |   By Tony Pals and Tong Wu, American Association of Education Researchers

AERA Announces 2020 Award Winners in Education Research

Washington, July 22, 2020—The American Educational Research Association (AERA) has announced the winners of its 2020 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at a Virtual Awards Celebration, September 12, 3:00-4:30 p.m. EDT.

“This year’s award winners exemplify commitment to the study and practice of education,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “We are proud to honor their outstanding scholarship and service to the education research field.” . . . 

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award

Recipients: Carolyn J. Heinrich (Vanderbilt University), Jennifer Darling-Aduana (Vanderbilt University), Annalee Good (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Huiping (Emily) Cheng (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

“A Look Inside Online Educational Settings in High School: Promise and Pitfalls for Improving Educational Opportunities and Outcomes," American Educational Research Journal, Volume 56, Issue 6, December 2019 .

This award recognizes the lifelong achievement of Palmer O. Johnson as a dedicated educator and for his pioneering work in educational research and methodology. The award is given for an outstanding article appearing in AERA Open, the American Educational Research Journal, Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, Educational Researcher, or the Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics.